Curriculum Statement

At St Mary’s and St Peter’s Church of England Primary School we aim to provide a curriculum which is deeply Christian, whilst at the same time serving the common good within our community.

We take the words of Jesus in John 10.10 promising ‘life in all its fullness’ seriously and believe that all within our community should be able to flourish and achieve their full potential.

We want our children to be successful lifelong learners, confident individuals and responsible citizens who are able to make a positive contribution to society.

We will achieve this by providing a broad, rich and exciting curriculum, which is both inclusive and challenging, in order to get the best from every child.

Our overarching curriculum design aims to develop the following four areas so that our children can flourish and find ‘life in all its fullness’.

  • Wisdom, Knowledge and Skills
  • Hope and Aspiration
  • Community and Living Well Together
  • Dignity and Respect

And, in order to learn successfully, we believe children need:

  • to develop positive self-images through knowing they are valued for themselves;
  • to have equality of opportunity to gain full access to the curriculum;
  • opportunities to form positive relationships within a stable and secure environment;
  • opportunities to express themselves creatively and apply their skills and knowledge;
  • access to a range of stimulating activities, trips, workshops and appropriate resources.

We teach the full National Curriculum and Religious Education.

The National Curriculum sets out a clear, full and statutory entitlement to learning for all children aged five to eleven and determines the content of what will be taught.

It is preceded by the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which is taught to children aged four to five.

The teaching of Religious Education is statutory in all schools and as a Church of England Voluntary Aided school the Governors have adopted the London Diocesan Board for Schools (LDBS) religious education curriculum.

The National Curriculum is taught to children in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 and comprises of these subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, Design and Technology (DT), Art, Music, Physical Education (PE), Computing, Modern Foreign Languages (MFL), Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education (PSHE) and Religious Education (RE).

Each subject has a programme of study which specified the knowledge, skills and concepts that the children will be expected to acquire as they progress through both primary and secondary school. There will be times when these subjects are best taught discretely and systematically, and other times when they will be taught in a cross-curricular way enabling the children to develop their knowledge, skills and understanding in a broader sense.

The curriculum at SMSP is not static and is subject to ongoing development in order to enhance the delivery to all our children, and remove potential barriers to learning.